Department Of Agriculture

Agriculture continues to be the most predominant sector of the District economy, around 30 percent of the working population is engaged in Agriculture and allied activities for their livelihood. The District has an area of 472629 Ha. with net cultivated area of around 184645 Ha. The Government policy and objectives have been to ensure the stability and increase in the agricultural production in a sustainable manner to meet the food requirement of the growing population. The Agriculture Department has taken up the challenge to achieve higher growth rate in agriculture by implementing several development schemes and also propagating relevant technologies to step up the production. Rainfed Area Development – National Mission On Sustainable Agriculture (NMSA) , Mission on Sustainable Dryland Agriculture (MSDA), Collective farming, Comprehensive Watershed Development Activities, water management through Micro Irrigation Systems, Soil health improvement through Bio-Fertilizer application including Green Manuring, Sustainable Sugarcane Initiative (SSI), Adoption of Integrated Nutrient Management (INM) and Integrated Pest Management (IPM) technologies are given priority through various programmes, besides Crop Diversification to fetch better returns and Value addition to Agricultural produces are also given priority to improve the economic status of the farming community of the district.

Infra-Structure Facilities :

State Seed Farm (SSF) – Pappankulam:

The objective of the State Seed Farm is to multiply the breeder seeds and foundation seeds and distribute them for further mass multiplication of these seeds as certified seeds at farmers fields as a part of Seed Multiplication Scheme. Paddy and Black gram seed production is carried out in SSF, Pappankulam.

Bio-Fertilizer Production Unit (BPU) – Avinashi:

Bio-Fertilizers such as Azospyrillum (Paddy), Azospyrillum (Others), Rhizobium (Pulses), Rhizobium (Groundnut) and Phospho bacteria are produced and distributed in carrier based solid form. The objective of the Bio-fertilizer application is to reduce the chemical fertilizer application and improve the soil health status.

Soil Testing Laboratory (STL) – Tiruppur:

Soil samples are collected from the farmers fields by following grid system and sent to Soil Testing Laboratory for analysis. Based on the analytical report of the Soil Testing Laboratory, Soil health cards are generated and distributed to the farmers. The objective is to educate the farmers to go for soil health card based recommended fertilizer application and also to control the indiscriminate use of chemical fertilizers that only affect the soil health status and reduce the produce quality but also increases the cost of cultivation without any additional benefits.

Mobile Soil Testing Laboratory (MSTL) – Palladam :

The objective of MSTL is to reach the farmers who are unaware about soil testing. The mobile soil testing vans covers all the blocks by going directly to the concerned villages by fixing up Tour Programme. Analysis is carried out in the field itself and report is generated thereby reducing the cost and saving the time of the farmers.

Agricultural Technology Management Agency (ATMA) :

The main objective is to strengthen Research – Extension – Farmer linkages. Technology transfer is made through Demonstrations, Training and Exposure visits.

Schemes :

Different schemes are being implemented in our district to disseminate the advanced technologies for increasing productivity and production in all agricultural crops.

I. Centrally Sponsored Schemes :

  • National Agricultural Development Programme (NADP) for Paddy, Millets, Pulses, Oilseeds, Sugarcane, Enriching Soil Fertility through Green Manure and Crop Diversification.
  • National Mission on Oilseeds and Oilpalm (NMOOP) – Oilseeds, Oilpalm and Tree Borne Oilseed crops.
  • National Food Security Mission (NFSM) – Pulses and Coarse Cereals.
  • National Mission on Sustainable Agriculture (NMSA) – Rainfed Area Development
  • Coconut Development Board Schemes (CDB) – Coconut
  • Sub Mission on Seeds and Planting Materials (SMSP) – Paddy, Millets, Pulses and Oilseeds – Certified Seed Distribution
  • Pradhan Manthri Krishi Sinchayee Yojana (PMKSY) – Micro Irrigation in Agricultural Crops.

II. State Schemes:

  • Mission on Sustainable Dryland Agriculture (MSDA) – Rainfed Millets, Pulses and Oilseeds.
  • Collective Farming – Establishing FPOs.
  • Seed Multiplication schemes by TANSEDA.